MKD | Macedonian Denar
  • The name denar comes from the name of the ancient Roman monetary unit, denarius. It is subdivided into 100 deni.
  • The first Macedonian denar was established on 26 April 1992. to establish the monetary independence of the Republic of North Macedonia. In May 1993, the currency was reformed.
  • The 50 deni coin was withdrawn in 2013, due to its low mintage it was practically never seen in circulation.
  • Since 1996 a large number of commemorative coins for collectors has been issued.
    In 2016, 200 and 2000 denari notes were issued, while the National Bank of the Republic of North Macedonia will begin withdrawing the 5000 denari banknote from circulation as part of the National Banks plans to rebalance the current structure of the notes in circulation.
  • The banknotes come in the denominations of 10, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 denar and coins in denominations of 1, 2 and 5 denara and 50 denija.
Country uses Macedonian Denar:
  • Macedonia